The official launch – continued…

This is the other half of the Living Assisted team.  I’m also excited to finally get this project off the ground. 

Four years ago, my grandpa began having “mini strokes” and in short order he had to move from his Florida condo to an assisted care facility.  I watched as my Parents, Aunts, and Uncles spent countless hours trying to determine what would be the best fit for him taking into consideration the type of care that would meet his needs, the quality of care and facilities, the location, and, not least of all, the cost.  With a lot of hard work and a bit of luck, he landed at a brand new facility in Chicago minutes away from several family members (including myself!) that were able to visit frequently.  My grandfather was a real family man and I truly believe that the extra family exposure extended his final years and made them more enjoyable for him as well.

One fact that was clear from my grandpa’s experience is that the available resources to support your search to select and get the most out of an assisted living facility are lacking.  Over the next few weeks (and hopefully months and years), we look forward to bringing you our insights into this complicated web with the hope that it will help you successfully navigate the Assisted Living landscape and find the best place for your loved one much like my family was able to do for my grandpa.

And thinking of grandpa, I’ll leave you with a link to one of his favorite tunes that brings back fond memories – An Irish Lullaby.

This entry was posted in The Living Assisted Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

